The Arizona Historical Society Community Outreach Committee of the Board of Directors

A meeting of the Community Outreach Committee was held on July 27, 2016 at the Arizona Heritage Center at Papago Park, 1300 N. College Avenue, Tempe, Arizona, for the purpose of reviewing two requests for museum certification and the small grant requests from The Arizona Historical Society's affiliate museums.

Committee Members in Attendance: Joe Abodeely, Doug Barlow, Jackie Berkowitz, Janice Bryson, Tom Foster, Jeannine Moyle. Attendance by phone: Doug Hocking, Bill Porter.

Staff Attendance: Julia Arriola, Bruce Dinges, Caitlin Lampman, Anne Woosley

Meeting called to order at 10:36 a.m. by Chairman Janice Bryson

Roll Call: Roll taken, all committee members in attendance.

A discussion was held regarding the application from the Patagonia Museum requesting certification status with the Arizona Historical Society. The committee voted unanimously to request approval of the application and the Patagonia Museum's request for certification will be placed as an action item on the meeting agenda of the Arizona State Historical Society State Board at the August 12, 2016 board meeting in Flagstaff.

A discussion was held regarding the application from the Amerind Museum requesting certification status with the Arizona Historical Society. The committee voted unanimously to request approval of the application and the Amerind Museum's request for certification will be placed as an action item on the meeting agenda of the Arizona State Historical Society State Board at the August 12, 2016 board meeting in Flagstaff.

The 2016-2017 small grant requests for certified museums were reviewed. Discussions were held and recommendations made for each of the 44 grant requests. Attached is the information regarding each certified museum and the recommended grant amount to be awarded to each museum. The recommendations will be voted on for approval at the Arizona Historical Society Board meeting on August 12, 2016 at Flagstaff.

There are no items for consideration at future meetings. Meeting adjourned at 12:18 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Janice Bryson, Chairman, Community Outreach Committee